The organization of the CBC consists of the following divisions: Program, International Service, Engineering, Commercial, Press and Information, Broadcast Regulations, Station Relations, Personnel and Administration, and Treasury.

Under the Canadian Broadcasting Act, 1936, the CBC is responsible for regulations controlling the establishment of networks and the proportion of time that may be devoted to advertising in broadcast programs. The CBC neither exercises nor authorizes any private station to exercise on its behalf censorship of any broadcast program. The responsibility for seeing that the regulations are observed rests with the individual station management.

Frequency Modulation.—The development of frequency modulation is given in the 1948-49 Year Book, p. 773. On Apr. 1, 1953, there were five CBC and 29 privately owned frequency modulation stations in operation.

Television.—Television in Canada is being developed on the same basic principles that governed the establishment of the national radio system—a combination of public and private ownership and operation of transmitting stations, co-operating in extended program coverage over a vast area.

The first two television transmitters and program production centres of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation began regular service at Montreal and Toronto in September 1952 (Stations CBFT and CBLT). Another station (CBOT) was opened in June 1953 at Ottawa and connected at once with the other stations by microwave relay, thus forming the first direct-connection television network in Canada. These three stations, situated in the most densely populated areas of Canada, cover more than 40 p.c. of the Canadian population.

Other CBC television stations are planned for Vancouver, Winnipeg and Halifax. In a statement of policy on television development (Dec. 8, 1952) the Government announced that applications for licences to establish privately owned television stations would be accepted for areas not now served or those to be served, as listed above, by publicly owned CBC stations. The object is to provide television in as many different areas of Canada as possible as quickly as possible and, therefore, at the present time, two stations will not be licensed to serve the same area.

At a meeting of the CBC Board of Governors in April 1953, the issue of licences for the operation of privately owned television stations at Sydney, N.S., Moncton, N.B., Quebec, Que., and at Hamilton, London, Windsor and Sudbury in Ontario was recommended to the Minister of Transport.

The Government announced in February 1953 that the radio-listener licence fee of \$2.50, established at the inception of the national broadcasting system, would be abolished and that there would be no licence fee to be paid by the owners of television sets. Instead, revenues of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation will come from statutory grants provided by the Federal Government, from the existing excise tax on radio and television sets and tubes and from the sale of advertising time. The income of privately owned commercial television stations will come exclusively from the sale of advertising time to sponsors. As in the case of radio, privately owned television stations will be provided with a certain number of hours of CBC programs each week, free of charge, and will benefit from a share of the income from commercial programs sold on a network basis. Until such time as extensive network facilities become available in Canada, distribution of programs will be made by kinescope recordings.